• Follow Us!

Darkness to Light and Prevent Child Abuse America are nominated for a CLASSY Award!

Date: March 20, 2014 Categories: Blog

The CLASSY Awards recognize the “greatest champions of social progress.” The CLASSY Award nominees possess certain characteristics, including bold innovation addressing social issues, strive for monumental change and act as a “the most significant catalysts for social issues.”

The CLASSYs are important because they recognize organizations that address new and existing challenges.  “With the insight and participation of experts and institutions, the CLASSY Awards process introduces a new methodology for measuring social impact across causes at a global scale.”

In order to be eligible for CLASSY award nomination, an organization must display the following:

  • A Comprehensive Understanding of Problem Dynamics
  • An Evidence-Based Methodology
  • Creative & Sustainable Models
  • Commitment to Measurable Change
  • Focus on Learning
  • High Growth Potential
  • Nonprofit or social enterprise
  • Focused on addressing one of the major cause categories
  • Significant growth over the past 3 years, or projected growth for the next 3 years
  • Quantifiable performance metrics for 2013
  • Based in the United States and Canada (but program can operate overseas)

The categories include:

  • Active Duty & Veteran Services
  • Animal & Wildlife Welfare
  • Disaster Relief & Public Safety
  • Education Advancement
  • Environmental Protection
  • Health Services
  • Human Rights & Social Justice Services
  • Poverty & Hunger Relief

There are subcategories for each cause. Darkness to Light and Prevent Child Abuse America are recognized as  “Human Rights and Social Justice Service” organizations. Women’s Rights, Laborer Rights, Prisoner and Ex-Offender Rights, LGBTQ Rights, And Child Rights are the general focus categories under “Human Rights and Social Justice Service.”

Darkness to Light and Prevent Child Abuse America have been nominated as under Child Rights. Truckers Against Trafficking, Kids in Need of Defense (KIND),  and Sanlaap North America are the other nominees in this category. Congratulations to all of the nominees and thank you for your commitment to social progress!